Skip to content

Leeds Rhinos 22-16 Salford Red Devils

  • reporter 

Leeds Rhinos began the 2024 Betfred Super League season with a hard-fought 22-16 victory over Salford Red Devils at AMT Headingley Rugby Stadium.

Rohan Smith’s Rhinos never even took the lead in the contest up until the final 10 minutes but a late try and penalty-kick conversion ensured they came out on top in their season opener.

It was the Red Devils who opened the scoring in the encounter when Marc Sneyd converted a penalty-kick for the visitors

The hosts were attempting to hit back immediately and very nearly did but a cynical foul from Red Devils’ full-back Ryan Brierley stopped them from doing so. Brierley was shown a yellow card meaning he had to leave the field for 10 minutes.

The Rhinos did then score their first points of the game and the season to draw level from the resulting penalty-kick which was emphatically converted by Rhyse Martin.

The first try of the game was scored by the Red Devils through debutant Cade Cust who took advantage of a mighty scramble in the Rhinos’ defence.

Sneyd then scored his second penalty kick of the contest to regain his team’s advantage.

The home team then scored their first try of the game through left-winger Ash Handley as the birthday boy reduced the deficit.

Martin then stepped up to take his second penalty-kick of the game and made no mistake in bringing his team level.

The away team then went in front for the third time in the game when loose forward Oli Parkington was in the right place to score a try.

It was Sneyd who once again took the penalty and made it three out of three on the evening to give his team a 14-8 advantage going into the interval.

The first moment of note in the second period came when Handley latched on to the loose ball to score his and the Rhinos’ second try of the game.

The hosts then got back on level terms when Martin converted a penalty for third time during the contest.

Rhinos’ debutant Paul Momirovski was then shown a yellow card following a collision in which the visitors were awarded a penalty kick.

Sneyd stepped up to take his fourth penalty-kick of the game and maintained his perfect record in the contest to put Nathan Connell’s men back in front.

It was then the Rhinos’ turn to be awarded a penalty-kick and Martin made no mistake in scoring his fourth conversion of the contest and getting his team back level once again.

With 10 minutes remaining, the home team hit the front for the first time on the evening when substitute Sam Lisone got past the Red Devils’ defence to score a try.

For the fifth time in the game, Martin stepped up to take a penalty kick and once again converted to keep up his 100% conversion rate in the night.

It was the away team’s turn to chase the game and they thought they scored a late try but it ended up being ruled out as the Rhinos survived this late scare to confirm their 22-16 triumph as they won their season opener.

LEEDS RHINOS:                                                                                                                                             SALFORD RED DEVILS:
1. Lachie Miller                                                                                                                                                1. Ryan Brierley
24. Luis Roberts                                                                                                                                              23. Chris Hankinson
3. Harry Newman                                                                                                                                           3. Nene MacDonald
4. Paul Momirovski                                                                                                                                        4. Tim Lafai
5. Ash Handley                                                                                                                                                 5. Deon Cross
6. Brodie Croft                                                                                                                                                 6. Cade Cust
7. Matt Frawley                                                                                                                                               7. Marc Sneyd
25. James Donaldson                                                                                                                                   8. Brad Singleton
9. Andy Ackers                                                                                                                                                 9. Amir Bourgh
8. Mikolaj Oledzki                                                                                                                                          17. Jack Ormondroyd
18. Mickael Goudemand                                                                                                                            11. Sam Stone
12. Rhyse Martin                                                                                                                                            12. Kallum Watkins ©
13. Cameron Smith ©                                                                                                                                  13. Oli Partington
INTERCHANGE:                                                                                                                                              INTERCHANGE:
17. Justin Sangare                                                                                                                                           14. Chris Atkin
15. Sam Lisone                                                                                                                                                   15. Shane Wright
14. Jarrod O’Connor                                                                                                                                      16. Joe Shorrocks
11. James Bentley                                                                                                                                            18. Ben Hellewell
18TH MAN:                                                                                                                                                          18TH MAN:
29. Alfie Edgell                                                                                                                                                    25. Nathan O’Connell

MANAGER:                                                                                                                                                           MANAGER:
ROHAN SMITH                                                                                                                                                   NATHAN CONNELL

Post-Match Interview with Sam Lisone:

What do you think?